THE Awards 2018

The stage is set, the judges' work done - let the celebrations commence!

The THE Awards are a rare opportunity to pause and reflect on the exceptional achievements of our extraordinary institutions. And raise a glass to the best of the best.

At a time when universities face challenges and headwinds, when politics and social attitudes can seem to call into question many of the things they stand for and hold dear, it is particularly important to champion the values, creativity and dedication displayed by those on our shortlists.

With that in mind, we are heartened once again to have had entries from institutions of every size and shape from all corners of the country, delivering exceptional shortlists in every category.

Congratulations to everyone represented here tonight. And good luck!

– John Gill, editor, THE

The winners were announced on 29 November 2018, view the photos of the ceremony in our Flickr album .

Below are the shortlists and winning entries, and here you will find an e-book profiling all the winners .

Watch the highlights video

University of the Year

Sponsored by CAPITA

University of Essex (winner)

Keele University

Newcastle University

Swansea University

University of West London

University of York

International Collaboration of the Year

Sponsored by Microsoft

University of Central Lancashire (winner)

Heriot-Watt University

Leeds Arts University and the University of Sheffield

University of Manchester*

University of the West of Scotland

Outstanding Support for Students

Sponsored by Anderson Quigley

Bangor University

University of Kent (winner)

University of Manchester

Solent University

University of Strathclyde

University of Worcester

Business School of the Year

Sponsored by Flywire

Bath Business School, Bath Spa University

Bristol Business School, University of the West of England

Chester Business School, University of Chester

ESCP Europe Business School (London) (winner)

Leeds University Business School, University of Leeds

Nottingham Business School, Nottingham Trent University

Research Project of the Year: Arts, Humanities and Social Sciences

Sponsored by Elsevier

City, University of London

De Montfort University

University of Leicester (winner)

Manchester Metropolitan University, in collaboration with the University of Manchester

University of Southampton*

University of South Wales

Research Project of the Year: STEM

University of Glasgow

University of Hertfordshire (winner)

London School of Hygiene and Tropical Medicine

Sheffield Hallam University, in collaboration with the University of Sheffield and NHS Trust partners

SRUC (Scotland's Rural College)

University of Strathclyde

Most Innovation Teacher of the Year

Sponsored by AdvanceHE

Theo Gilbert, University of Hertfordshire (winner)

Glenn Hurst, University of York

Mark Huxham, Edinburgh Napier University

Matthew Nicholls, University of Reading

Ian Turner, University of Derby

Sarah Willamson, University of Huddersfield

International Impact Award

Sponsored by Huawei

Canterbury Christ Church University, in collaboration with the Palestinian Ministry of Education and Higher Education (winner)

Leeds Arts University

Liverpool School of Hygiene and Tropical Medicine

Newcastle University

Outstanding Contribution to the Local Community

University of Lancashire

De Montfort University

Middlesex University and the University of Greenwich, in collaboration with The Refinery (winner)

Newcastle University*

Solent University

University of Southampton

THE DataPoints Merit Award

Sponsored by THE DataPoints

University of Aberdeen

University of Dundee (winner)

University of East Anglia

University of Leicester

Swansea University

Outstanding Contribution to Leadership Development

Sponsored by Advance HE

Durham Univeristy

University of Essex

London South Bank University

University of Nottingham

Richmond, the American International University in London

University of Stirling (winner

Technological Innovation of the Year

Sponsored by Jisc

University of Exeter

Glasgow Caledonian University

Harper Adams University (winner)

University of Nottingham

SRUC (Scotland's Rural College)

Swansea University

Widening Participation or Outreach Initiative Project of the Year

Sponsored by Pearson

City, University of London

University of East London (winner)

London South Bank University

Loughborough University

Royal Northern College of Music

University of Nottingham

Outstanding Research Supervisor of the Year

Sponsored by UK Council for Graduate Education

Matthew Bailey, University of Edinburgh

Helen Gleeson, University of Leeds (winner)

Chris Megson, Royal Holloway, University of London

Chrissie Rogers, University of Bradford

David Scalon, UCL

Nicola Shaughnessy, University of Kent

Outstanding Entrepreneurial University

Sponsored by NCEE

University of Central Lancashire

City, University of London

University of Hertfordshire

King's College London (winner)

University of Lincoln

Teesside University

Excellence and Innovation in the Arts

Sponsored by Adobe

Birmingham City University

University of Central Lancashire (winner)

Coventry University*

University of Hull

Scottish Graduate School for Arts & Humanities

University of St. Andrews

Most Innovative Contribution to Business-University Collaboration

Sponsored by HSBC

Burleigh Pottery, in collaboration with the University of the West of England*

Camstent, in collaboration with the University of Nottingham

Ikea, in collaboration with Leeds Business School, Leeds Becket University

Nestlé Nespresso, in collaboration with the University of Hertfordshire

Recycling Lives, in collaboration with the University of Central Lancashire (winner)

Sony Interactive Entertainment Europe, in collaboration with Sheffield Hallam University

The Lord Dearing Lifetime Achievement Award

Sponsored by Amity University

Baroness Warnock (winner)