THE Awards 2017

The judging has taken place and the stage is set, now we await the announcement of the winners of the THE Awards 2017. Those who prevail deserve all the plaudits they will receive, but as ever the shortlists are packed with examples of individual and collective brilliance.

We have nominees from well over half the universities in the land, so tonight is truly a celebration of the best in higher education the length and breadth of the UK. This year has, once again, been one in which universities have buffeted some stormy weather, not least the political uncertainty caused by last year's Brexit vote.

But if tonight's gathering proves one thing, it is that universities continue to be among the most inspirational, committed forces for good that we have. All institutions, teams and individuals who made it into the running this evening should be very proud.

- John Gill, editor, THE

The winners were announced on 30 November 2017, view the photo of the ceremony in our Flickr album .

Below are the shortlists and winning entries, and here you will find an e-book profiling all the winners .

Watch the highlights video

University of the Year

Sponsored by Santander

City, University of London

University of Dundee

Liverpool John Moores University

Northumbria University

Nottingham Trent University (winner)

University of Winchester

Business School of the Year

Sponsored by Amity University

Bristol Business School, University of the West of England

ESCP Europe Business School (London)

Fashion Business School, London College of Fashion, University of the Arts London

The Open University Business School

Pearson Business School, Pearson College London

Saïd Business School, University of Oxford (winner)

International Impact Award

University of Bedfordshire

Leeds Arts Univeristy

University of Leicester, in collaboration with the University of Kufa (Iraq)

Loughborough University

The Open University (winner)

University or Worcester

Outstanding Support for Students

Sponsored by Anderson Quigley

De Montfort Univeristy

Durham University

University of Essex

University of Galsgow

University of Kent (winner)

Sheffield Hallam University

Most Improved Student Experience

Sponsored by Scientia

Canterbury Christ Church University

City, University of London

Glasgow Caledonian University

University of Hertfordshire

Staffordshire University (winner)

University of Sunderland

Research Project of the Year: Arts, Humanities and Social Sciences

Sponsored by Elsevier

Durham University

University of Exeter

Heriot-Watt University

University of London (winner)

Royal Central School of Speech and Drama, in collaboration with Fevered Sleep

Southampton Solent University

Research Project of the Year: STEM

Sponsored by Worktribe

University of Exeter

Heriot-Watt University, on behlaf of the Edinburgh Super-Resolution Imaging Consortium (ESRIC) (winner)

Liverpool John Moores Univeristy

London School of Hygiene and Tropical Medicine, University of London, on behalf of the WOMAN Trial

Newcastle University

Queen Mary University of London

International Collaboration of the Year

Cardiff University, in collaboration with the University of Namibia (winner)

University of Chester, in collaboration with the Department of Justice and Police Force of New South Wales (Australia)

London College of Fashion, University of the Arts London, in collaboration with the Institut Français de la Mode (France)

University of Nottingham, in collaboration with Tianjin University of Traditional Chinese Medicine (China)

University of Salford, in collaboration with the Zhejiang Fashion Institute of Technology (China)

Outstanding Research Supervisor of the Year

Sponsored by UK Council for Graduate Education

Gerado Adesso, University of Nottingham

Jon Anderson, Cardiff University

Francesca Arrigoni, Kingston University

Yogesh K. Dwivedi, Swansea University

Jelena Grbic, University of Southampton

Matthew Inglis, Loughborough University (winner)

Outstanding Contribution to the Local Community

Cardiff University (winner)

Durham University

University of Glasgow, in collaboration with Glasgow Science Festival

Queen Mary University of London

Sheffield Hallam University

Ulster University

Widening Participtaion or Outreach Initiative of the Year

Sposored by Royal Air Force

Cardiff Metropolitan University

University of Cumbria and HMP Hererigg

King's College London

Kingston University (winner)

Ulster University

University or Warwick

THE DataPoints Merit Award

Sponsored by THE DataPoints

University of Exeter

King's College London

Lancaster University

University of Leicester (winner)

Queen Mary University of London

University of Sussex

Outstanding Contribution to Leadership Development

Sponsored by Leadership Foundation for Higher Education

University of Bradford

De Montfort University

Edge Hill University

University of Exeter

University of Glasgow (winner)

Ulster University

Excellence and Innovation in the Arts

University of Bedfordshire

University of Brighton (winner)

University of Exeter

Loughborough University

Teeside University

University of Worcester

Most Innovative Contribution to Business-University Collaboration

Sponsored by National Centre for Universities and Business

Hastings Hotels, in collaboration with Ulster University

NHS Wales Informatics Service, in collaboration with the University of Wales Trinity Saint David

Nestlé, in collaboration with Sheffield Hallam University

Paxman, in collaboration with the University of Huddersfield

Rolls-Royce, in collaboration with the Universities of Cambridge, Birmingham and Swansea

Ryder Architechture, in collaboration with Northumbria University (winner)

Technological Innovation of the Year

Sponsored by Jisc

University of Birmingham

GW4 Alliance (the universities of Bristol, Bath, Cardiff and Exeter), in collaboration with the Met Office and Gray Inc.

Loughborough University (winner)

University of Manchester

University of St. Andrews

University of Sunderland

Outstanding University Entrepreneurship Award

Sponsored by NCEE

City, University of London

Falmouth Univeristy

Liverpool John Moores University (winner)

Pearson College London

University of Salford

Southampton Solent University

Most Innovative Teacher of the Year

Sponsored by Higher Edcucation Academy

Georgina Blakeley, The Open University

Scott Border, University of Southampton

Nicci Campbell, University of Southampton

Russell Crawford, Keele University (winner)

Sharon Edwards, Bucks New University

Duncan Reavey, University of Chichester

The Lord Dearing Lifetime Achievement Award

Sponsored by Achievability

John Curtice, University of Strathclyde (winner)