Previous Winners

2012 Winners

The winners were announced at a gala awards ceremony on 29 November 2012. Congratulations to all.

Please click here to view the 2012 THE Award winners’ book, showing details of the winning entries

The Lord Dearing Lifetime Achievement Award

Sponsored by Communications Management
Professor John Goddard, Newcastle University

Excellence and Innovation in the Arts

Northumbria University

Outstanding Contribution to the Local Community

British School of Osteopathy

Widening Participation Initiative of the Year

Sponsored by UNITE
London South Bank University

Outstanding Employer Engagement Initiative

Sponsored by Communications Management
University of Lincoln

Outstanding ICT Initiative of the Year

Sponsored by European Electronique and Fujitsu
University of Southampton

Research Project of the Year

Queen Mary, University of London

Outstanding Support for Early Career Researchers

University of York

Business School of the Year

Sponsored by Blackwell's Bookshops
Lancaster University Management School

Outstanding Support for Students

Sponsored by Capita
University of Glamorgan

Most Improved Student Experience

Sponsored by Campus Living Villages
University of Chester

International Collaboration of the Year

Sponsored by SGH Martineau
University of Westminster

Outstanding Contribution to Sustainable Development

Sponsored by Berkeley First
The University of Nottingham

Outstanding Contribution to Innovation and Technology

Sponsored by Elsevier
Durham University

Outstanding Contribution to Leadership Development

Sponsored by the Leadership Foundation for Higher Education
Newcastle University

Most Innovative Teacher of the Year

Sponsored by Higher Education Academy
Mark Brandon, The Open University

Entrepreneurial University of the Year

Sponsored by NCEE
University of Huddersfield

University of the Year

Sponsored by Santander Universities
University of Strathclyde


Winners of the ninth Times Higher Education Awards are revealed!


See a great selection of photos from the 2013 Awards in our online photo gallery


Join those who have showcased the greatest ideas, finest practice and the very best researchers and teachers in our universities.

2013 Awards Night:

The ceremony took place on Thursday 28 November 2013, at the Grosvenor House Hotel, Park Lane, London